Musings on Everything

I muse, therefore I write.

On Music

So I realized, while probing my iTunes library for something to listen to, that while I have an iPod touch and iTunes and a rather large amount of hard drive space (343 GB as it stands), I have nothing good to listen to. My music collection consists mainly of soundtracks from Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and Pirates of the Caribbean, mixed in with some incredibly tacky crap I somehow managed to pick up from various places (Cotton Eye Joe has a dance mix?). Those of you who have seen this mediocre collection of mp3s know what I’m talking about. And, living on the Internet as I do, I recently picked up on the fact that the SXSW music festival is currently going on right now in Texas.

Leaving aside my intense dislike of Texas, we come to the fact that I am sitting here completely unaware of any good music to speak of, and there, two time zones and half a country away, some of the best artists in whatever the hell genres SXSW deals in are congregating. Obviously, there is a disconnect here. However, since unfortunately I can manage to scrounge up neither the time nor the money to sit my ass down in Austin and – how do the kids say it? “Rock out”? – I am forced to remain here in my room, idly wishing that math quizzes would just disappear. And so, I trolled the internet. Perhaps there is a live stream of the performances somewhere? But lo, I found something even better. A torrent containing music from all the artists who are at SXSW. Cool. So, a download later, I’m sitting in front of my computer, faced with 1251 songs from artists who I know nothing about. Or have even heard of.

So here lies my dilemma: How do I become “musically savvy,” as the case may be? I really really really don’t want to be pushed into only listening to the stuff that comes over the radio, because that stuff is crap and I’m getting bored with it. I know this is sort of like asking the blind asking the blind for directions, but hey, who else do I have to turn to?

I could, on the other hand, turn to this site, which gives six-word reviews of all the songs in the torrent. But I want more than one opinion. So I implore you all, download this torrent and give some of it a listen. Hopefully you find some gems, some diamonds in the rough. I know I did.

Written by Sri

March 19, 2009 at 8:21 PM

Posted in Musings

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! You are now a connoisseur in fringe music! Yes, I know that’s an exaggeration, but some of the bands there… *shudder*

    ~

    March 21, 2009 at 9:07 PM

  2. Your library of random shit is only complete if That Thing You Do! is included. It’s unfortunate, but as of this morning it is the most played song on my iPod. I will also freely admit that while I am not “musically savvy,” there are some bands that I know literally EVERYTHING about (okay, the Beatles…don’t give me that look) and some bands that are just flat out awesome. BUT, I know very little “current” music and more what my parents like. My musical span also does not go much farther back than 1964, so I’m probably not the right person to ask.

    Wow, I rambled a lot. I just so happened to read this post the day after I went to see Fleetwood Mac. Lindsey Buckingham is an amazing guitarist… just saying.

    Messo

    March 22, 2009 at 6:59 PM

  3. XPN 88.5! Good radio station for new stuff.

    Monica

    March 23, 2009 at 3:21 PM


Comments are closed.

