Musings on Everything

I muse, therefore I write.

On Dreams

For many thousands of years, man has been wondering why he falls into a coma-like state and hallucinates for several hours at a time, coming out of it refreshed and ready to take on a new day. And for that same many thousands of years, there has been absolutely no concrete answer for why we dream. There are many theories, but the most favored one says that the brain dreams in order to preserve its mental integrity – air out the dirty laundry and sift through all the crap that’s happened during the last few waking hours.

Personally, I think I dream because my subconscious enjoys messing with me. Let me explain:

A great many of my dreams are twisted. Like the time I was devoured by army ants. Or the time I dreamt I woke up, then fell asleep again, then woke up. All within a dream. That was odd. Or the time I was made out of Lego and being chased by a giant wrecking ball that had legs. And those are just the easy-to-believe ones, relatively speaking.

But dreams, in and of themselves, are rather magical. They take you somewhere completely unique, and completely from your mind, so that  And that way, you’re saved the hassle of thinking about it when you’re awake. But there are those people who say dreams are nothing more than misfirings of neurons, a cosmic accident that just happens to be something cool. Or scary. Or both.

And sometimes, they even let you participate in them.

Has anyone ever lucid dreamed? It’s possibly the most amazing thing ever. To actually be a part of the world that you have just created in your head, to actually take an active role in what should, for all intents and purposes, be a mere hallucination, now that’s something cool. I’ve only been able to do it one time:

I dreamt that I was in the forests of some taiga (I really need to go visit one of those before I die), and suddenly, I realized that I could look around. And move my hands. But it was a dream. It had to be a dream, right? I couldn’t just randomly be in the Russian taiga in the middle of the night, could I?

I quickly realized that I should just go for it and start exploring. So I did. And while many things happened in that dream, I thought I might give you some highlights: I battled a wolf with my bare hands (this was awesome), saw the house of the Baba Yaga running through the trees, apparently chasing a deer (this was freaky), and found a tunnel into a cave, lit only with one burning torch, and obviously, I went into it. And there at the end of it was a sphinx in front of a huge door that resembled Minas Tirith (yeah, I know, right?). And the sphinx asked me, “It has a golden head, and it has a golden tail, but no golden body. What is it?”And I gave the correct answer (I suspect this came up because I was doing a book of puzzles before going to bed that night). And the doors opened, level by level sliding open, and I walked through to a field full of dragons, the kind that are in the book Eragon (I was sorta obsessed with it at the time). And I was just about to go down and say hello to them when my alarm clock started beeping.

That was three years ago.

I can remember every single bit of that dream vividly. I’ve never lucid-dreamed since then, but damn if that wasn’t on my top ten coolest things ever. And there is so much I saw in that dream (vision?) that if I went into it in detail now, I’d never get my homework done. I do have one last bit of that dream I’d like to leave you with: I emerge from dense trees onto a cliff, with a view over the entire expanse of what seemed like endless waves of dark green forest stretching out below me, the moon above hanging in a starry sky. It was the most amazingly beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, whether it be real or not, and I’ve spent a good deal of time since then trying to find a picture that can match it. If I had any lick of artistic ability, I’d try to make it myself, but I can’t,so I guess until I can find the time and skill to put something together, I’ll have to settle with the memory of that scene in my head. 

And some people say that dreams are just mind farts. Pathetic. 

P.S. Ah, how I wish I had the time to really do that dream justice now. Maybe later, when I have some more free time, I’ll make it into a story and post it. That would be fun. For now, however, know that the paragraph above is only a small part of what happened in my head that night, and that it really doesn’t do the story any justice. Thing’s like the frigging Lord of the Rings, it’s so epic.

P.P.S. Who knows the answer to the riddle?

Written by Sri

February 11, 2009 at 7:24 PM

Posted in Musings

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heads I win, tails you lose.
    I usually lucid dream…so whenever I wake up, it takes a while to figure out if I’m still dreaming or not. -_-

    ~

    February 11, 2009 at 9:06 PM

  2. Sleep Hacks = :)

    ~

    February 11, 2009 at 9:07 PM

  3. Where’s the picture from?

    ubernefariouspanda

    February 11, 2009 at 9:49 PM

  4. My dreams are just flat out awkward. I had a lucid dream once, but I didn’t exactly realize it at the time. Last May right around AP season. Something to do with a blond boy and ninja police dudes. And a pool appearing in my backyard. I’m pretty sure I didn’t control the blond boy but I think I made the ninja police dudes chase me and then I made the pool open up in my backyard and jumped in it to hide. But anyway that’s enough from me.

    Messo

    February 11, 2009 at 10:14 PM


Comments are closed.

